You are here: Eusorhet Researcher Database Sort by Research Interests Political Communication

Political Communication

Name: Country: University: Affiliation: Position: Email: Keywords:
Corina Andone Netherlands University of Amsterdam Assistant Professor c.andone@uva.nl Argumentation Theory; Political Rhetoric; Burden of Proof; Political Interviews; Political Accountability
Judi Atkins United Kingdom Coventry University Lecturer judi.atkins@coventry.ac.uk Rhetoric; Political Speech; Ideology; Leadership; British Politics
Tor Bang Norway Handelshøyskolen BI (Oslo) Sr. Lecturer tor.bang@bi.no Political Communication
Mette Bengtson Denmark University of Copenhagen Dept. Of Media, Cognition and Communication PhD Fellow bengtson@hum.ku.dk Political Debate; Political Commentators; Argumentation; Democracy; Rhetorical Citizenship
Ruth Breeze Spain University of Navarra Institute of Modern Languages Directer (Dr.) rbreeze@unav.es Discourse Analysis; Legal Discourse; Corporate Discourse; Political Rhetoric; Argumentation
Michael Burke Netherlands University College Roosevelt/Utrecht University Professor m.burke@roac.nl Rhetoric and Pedagogy; Politics and Persuasion; Rhetoric in Creative Writing; Rhetorical Citizenship; (Literary) Stylistics
Adelino Cattani Italy University of Padua Dept. Of Philosophy Professor adelino.cattani@unipd.it Argumentation; Rhetoric; Debate; Fallacies; Polemic
Andrew Scott Crines United Kingdom University of Huddersfield Lecturer a.crines@hud.ac.uk Oratory; Political Speech; British Politics; Elite Leadership; European Union Politics
Nigar Degirmenci Turkey Pamukkale University Lecturer ndegirmenci@pau.edu.tr Political Communication; Media and Politics; Political Discourse; Political Rhetoric; Women and Leadership
Robert Delp United Kingdom Cardiff University PhD Fellow (Submitted) bodelp@gmail.com Rhetoric in Western Thought; Political Campaigns; Barrack Obama; Rhetoric and Identity; Kenneth Burke
Jason Edwards USA Bridgewater State University Dept. Of Communication Studies Assistant Professor jasonedwards57@hotmail.com Myth and Rhetoric; Collective Memory; Presidential Rhetoric; Apologies; American Foreign Policy Culture
Jiska Engelbert Netherlands Erasmus University Rotterdam Media Studies Assistant Professor engelbert@eshcc.eur.nl Discourse Analysis; Media; Politics; Social Change; Conflict/Controversy
Alan Finlayson United Kingdom University of East Anglia Dept. Of Political, Social and International Studies Professor a.finlayson@uea.ac.uk Rhetoric and Ideology; Rhetoric and Political Theory/Philosophy; British Politics; Parliamentary Rhetoric; Invention
Cara Finnegan USA University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Dept. of Communication Associate Professor caraf@illinois.edu Visual Rhetoric; Political Communication; Photography; Public Sphere; Rhetorical Criticism
Ivan Fomin Russia Russian Academy of Science, ISISS PhD Fellow fomin.i@gmail.com Political Discourse; Political Linguistics; Discourse Analysis
Neil Foxlee United Kingdom University of Central Lancashire Associate Lecturer n.foxlee@virgin.net Political Rhetoric; Rhetoric of Narrative; Visual Rhetoric; Theory (Bakhtin); Rhetorical Critical Method
Marie Gelang Sweden Örebro University HumUS Akademin Professor marie.gelang@oru.se Actio; Nonverbal Communication; Political Speech; Kairos; Timing
Viara Genova Bulgaria Sofia University "St. Kliment Ohridski" Dept. of Rhetoric viaratg@abv.bg Gender Rhetoric; Parliamental Rhetoric; Political Rhetoric; Media Communication; Public Relations
Bruce E. Gronbeck USA University of Iowa Dept. Of Communication Studies Professor Emeritus bruce-gronbeck@uiowa.edu  Political Communication; Rhetorical Criticism; Media Criticism; Cultural Studies; History of Rhetorical Theory
Hans Gunnarsson Sweden Högskolan i Halmstad University Lecturer hans.gunnarsson@tele2.se Didactics; Visual Rhetoric; Political Rhetoric; Quintillian
Norbert Gutenberg Germany University of Saarlandes Europäisches Institut für Rhetorik  Professor n.gutenberg@mx.uni-saarland.de Rhetoric and Philosophy; Rhetoric as Epistemic; Argumentation; Rhetoric and Politics; Rhetoric and Aesthetics
Derek Hampson United Kingdom University for the Creative Arts School of Fine Arts Course Leader dhampson@ucreative.ac.uk Art & Rhetoric; Heidegger; Grassi; Metaphor; Politics
Signe Pildal Hansen Denmark Aarhus University Danish School of Education Associate Professor signe@dpu.dk Rhetorical Ethos; Rhetoric of Knowledge; Politics of Knowledge; Analysis of Sociality; Analysis of Contemporary Time
Laura Herrmann Germany University of Tübingen Seminar für Allgemeine Rhetorik Graduate Student herrmann.laura@t-online.de Agency; Rhetoric and Theatre; Rhetorical Criticism; Political Communication; Strategic Communication
Mark Herron Denmark University of Copenhagen Dept. Of Media, Cognition and Communication PhD Fellow herron@hum.ku.dk Presidential Rhetoric; Narrative Rhetoric; Rhetorical Criticism; Political Campaigns; US Politics
Elin Strand Hornness Norway University of Oslo Dept. Of Media and Communication PhD Fellow e.s.hornnes@media.uio.no Apologia; Rhetorical Defense; Political Scandals; Media Scandals; Female Politicians
Matthew Houdek USA Syracuse University Dept. Of Communication and Rhetorical Studies PhD Student mthoudek@syr.edu Power and Counter-Hegemonic Discourses; Memory Studies; Politics and Citizenship; Tourist Studies; Subjectivity and Agency
Sylvie Housiel Israel Tel-Aviv University Dept. Of French / ADARR Lecturer sylhou139@gmail.com Rhetoric; Argumentation; Discourse Analysis; Epistolary Discourse; Social, Political and Propaganda during war-time
Cornelia Ilie Sweden Malmö University Professor cornelia.ilie@gmail.com Political Discourse; Cross-Cultural Rhetoric; Argumentation; Academic Genres; Institutional Discourses
Jaap de Jong Netherlands University of Leiden Journalism and New Media Professor j.c.de.jong@hum.leidenuniv.nl Political Rhetoric; Speeches; Visual Rhetoric; Stylistics
Aapo Jumppanen Finland University of Helsinki Ruralia Institute Project Manager aapo.jumppanen@helsinki.fi American Foreign Policy Rhetoric; Politics in Popular Culture; Regional History - Rhetoric of Consolidation of Municipalities
Agnieszka Kampka Poland Warsaw University of Life Sciences Dept. Of Sociology Assistant Professor akampka@hotmail.com Political Rhetoric; Public Sphere; Visual Rhetoric; Rhetoric and Media
Marja Keränen Finland University of Jyväskyla Dept. Of Social Sciences and Philosophy Professor marja.h.keranen@jyu.fi Rhetoric of Governance; Rhetoric of Science
Jens Kjeldsen Norway University of Bergen Dept. Of Information Science and Media Studies Professor jens.kjeldsen@infomedia.uib.no Visual Rhetoric; Argumentation; Speech Making; Political Rhetoric; Rhetorical Theory
Marta Kozina Croatia Univeristy of Zagreb Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences Student Assistant mkozina2@ffzg.hr Argumentation; Ethos; Logos; Political Disocuse; Logical Fallacies
Can Kücükali England Lancaster University PhD Student cankucukali@gmail.com Turkey; CDA; PDA; Political Discourse; Rhetorical Strategies; Rhetorical Figures
Jim A. Kuypers USA Virginia Tech Dept. of Communication Associate Professor kuypers@vt.edu Rhetorical Criticism; Rhetorical Theory; Meta-Criticism; Rhetoric and Public Address; Political Communication
Maarten van Leeuwen Netherlands University of Leiden Centre for Linguistics (LUCL) PhD Fellow m.van.leeuwen@hum.leidenuniv.nl Political Discourse; Stylistics; Cognitive Rhetoric
Berit von der Lippe Norway Norwegian School of Management Institute for Communication, Culture and Language Professor berit.v.d.lippe@bi-no Political Rhetoric; Identification and Mass Media; Rhetoric and Gender; Cooptation; Post-Colonial Theories
Pieter Maeseele Belgium University of Antwerp Faculty of Political and Social Sciences Professor pieter.maeseele@gmail.com Risk Conflicts; Ideology; (de-)politicization; Science, Risk and Environmental Communication; Media Sociology
James Martin United Kingdom Goldsmiths, University of London Professor j.martin@gold.ac.uk Politics; Psychoanalysis; Gramschi; Aesthetics; Emotions
Ivanka Mavrodieva Bulgaria Sofia University "St. Kliment Ohridski" Associate Professor mavrodieva@phls.uni-sofia.bg Rhetoric and the Internet; Political Rhetoric; Public Speaking; Public Relations; Business Communication
Eric Opoku Mensah Ghana University of Cape Coast Centre for Rhetoric PhD Candadate / Lecturer eripokuuk@yahoo.co.uk Rhetoric; Metaphor; Political; Discourse; Cognition
Brigitte Mral Sweden Örebro University School of Humanities, Education and Social Sciences Professor brigitte.mral@oru.se Crisis Communication; Rhetoric and Gender; Visual Rhetoric; Political Communication; Right Wing Rhetoric
Mads Einar Nielsen Denmark Aarhus University School of Culture and Society PhD Fellow hismen@hum.au.dk Propaganda; Narrative Rhetoric; Visual Rhetoric; Constitutive Rhetoric; Burkean Rhetoric
Elitza Nikolova Bulgaria National Defence Academy „G. S. Rakovski” Assistant Professor elitsa6@abv.bg Rhetoric; Strategic Communication; NATO; Audience; Image
Anne Birgitta Nilsen Norway Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences Interpretive Studies Associate Professor anne-birgitte.nilsen@hioa.no Intercultural Rhetoric; Political Rhetoric
Cezar Ornatowski USA San Diego State University Professor ornat@mail.sdsu.edu Political Discourse; Parlamentary Discourse; Totalitarian Rhetoric; Political Rhetoric; Rhetoric and Transformation 
Kari Palonen Finland University of Jyväskyla Dept. Of Social Sciences and Philosophy Professor kari.i.palonen@jyu.fi  Parliamentary Rhetoric; Max Weber; Rhetoric as a style of political theorising; Conceptual Histories; Concept of Politics
Pamela Pietrucci USA University of Washington, Seattle Doctoral Candidate pamelap@uw.edu Rhetoric; Argumentation; Digital Humanities; Social Movements; Political Rhetoric
Anita Runjić-Stoilova Croatia University of Split Research Assistant arunjic@ffst.hr Argumentation; Rhetorical Tropes; Rhetoric in Media; Political Discourse
Carolina Sánchez de Jaegher Netherlands RA Roosevelt Academy Spanish and Latin American Studies Lecturer c.sanchez@roac.nl Social Movements; The Rhetoric of Protest; Social Semiotics; Cognition in Political Discourses
Margareth Sandvik Norway Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences Dept. For Education Associate Professor margareth.sandvik@hioa.no Argumentation; Political Communication; Conversation Analysis; Digital Literacy; Bilingualism
Gianluigi Sassu United Kingdom University of London Institute for Germanic and Romance Studies Dr. (Visiting Fellow) gigisassu@tiscali.it Political Philosophy; Machiavelli; Philosophy of Communication; Rhetoric and Marxism; Rhetoric and Community
Jeanne Strunck Denmark University of Aalborg Dept. For Culture and Global Studies Associate Professor strunck@cgs.aau.dk Discourse Analysis; Gender and Language; Political Discourse; Health Communication; Organizational Discourse
Assimakis Tseronis Netherlands University of Amsterdam Media Studies Assistant Professor a.tseronis@uva.nl Multimodal Argumentation; Stylistics; Discourse Analysis; Mediated Political Communication; Science Communication
Nick Turnbull United Kingdom University of Manchester School of Social Sciences Lecturer nick.turnbull@manchester.ac.uk Political Rhetoric; Philosophy of Rhetoric; Michael Meyer; Problematology; Governance
Anne Ulrich Germany University of Tübingen Seminar für Allgemeine Rhetorik Research Assistent anne.ulrich@uni-tuebingen.de Visual Rhetoric; Rhetoric and the Media; Ethos and Credibility; Political Rhetoric
Justin Vaughn USA Boise University Dept. Of Political Science Assistant Professor justinvaughn@boisestate.edu Presidential Rhetoric; Discourse Analysis; Political Communication; Rhetoric and New Media
Orla Vigsö Sweden Södertörn University Institute for Communication, Media and IT Professor orla.vigso@sh.se Crisis Communication; Politicial Communication; Visual Rhetoric; Argumentation; Corporate Communication
Guy Westwood United Kingdom University of Oxford Classics Faculty Leventis Research Fellow guy.westwood@classics.ox.ac.uk Political Oratory; Democratic Rhetoric; Classical Athenian Oratory; Demosthenes; Aeschines
Comments on content: 
Revised 30.06.2015