A message from the President of the RSE

Dear member of RSE,

At the upcoming RSE-conference in Norwich we will have a General Assembly for our society. At this meeting we will elect an Executive Board for the coming period.

## **Board members up for re-election**

In the present board the following members are up for re-election:

Board members elected for a four-year period:

Hilde van Belle

Ivanka Mavrodieva

Esben Bjerggaard Nielsen

Jens E. Kjeldsen (President)

Maria Zaleska

Michael Hoppmann

Anne Ulrich

Kris Rutten

*Graduate student members (PhD-members) elected for a two-year period:* 

Louise Therkildsen (PhD)

Martijn Wackers (PhD)

Board members not up for election Alan Finlayson Maria Freddi

### **Nominating candidates**

According to our Bylaws candidates of the Executive Board may be nominated by: a) The President, or b) a member of the Executive Board, or c) a member of the Advisory Board, or d) ten members of the society or 5% of members of the society whichever number is greater. Any nominations must be sent to the President (Jens E. Kjeldsen at <a href="jens.kjeldsen@uib.no">jens.kjeldsen@uib.no</a>) within noon (CET) on Monday June 26.

## I am stepping down as President

After the RiS-conference in Leiden in 2009 I served as chair of a planning committee contributing to establish our European rhetoric society. We presented the plans in Antwerp in 2011, and in Copenhagen 2013 a board was elected, where I was elected as President.

I am very proud of what we have achieved in creating and developing RSE, making great conferences, establishing new possibilities for European researchers of rhetoric, and binding European and international researchers closer together. We still have much to do, and much to achieve. In order to secure that we will achieve this in the best possible way, I believe that RSE needs new eyes and fresh muscles, which is why I will step down as

president after our General Assembly in Norwich. I am very happy to hereby nominate Kris Rutten as the next President of Rhetoric Society of Europe.

# The Presidents nomination for the coming period

As the sitting President I hereby nominate the following as members for the Executive Board for the Rhetoric Society of Europe for the coming period:

#### President:

Kris Rutten (nominated for re-election as board member, nominated for election as president)

Members of Executive Board:

Hilde van Belle (nominated for re-election)

Alan Finlayson (half-way through a four year term)

Ivanka Mavrodieva (nominated for re-election)

Esben Bjerggaard Nielsen (nominated for re-election)

Martijn Wackers (PhD) (nominated for re-election)

Maria Freddi (half-way through a four year term)

Jens E. Kjeldsen (nominated for re-election as board member)

Maria Zaleska (nominated for re-election)

Michael Hoppmann (nominated for re-election)

Anne Ulrich (nominated for re-election)

Louise Therkildsen (PhD) (nominated for re-election)

I Look forward to a great conference in Norwich in July!

Greetings Jens E. Kjeldsen President RSE